James Hardie Directors win an appeal

News >> Directors and Officers Liability

Seven former directors of James Hardie are now able to return to sit on Australian company boards, after they were successful appealing against their bans from company directorships and fines given to former chairman Meredith Hellicar, Michael Brown, Michael Gillfillan, Martin Koffel, Dan O'Brien, Greg Terry and Peter Willcox have been overturned.

The decision relates to a judgement in 2009, in which Justice Ian Gzell found that ten former executives and directors of James Hardie breached their duty of care after approving a media release relating to claims for asbestos victims.

The release claimed that an asbestos compensation fund provided certainty for both claimants and shareholders. But the fund was later found to be short by more than $1 billion.

The former directors were subsequently disqualified and fined.

Nine of the ten of the defendants appealed against the 2009 judgement, while the tenth, former chief executive Peter Macdonald, accepted the 2009 ruling and has been banned from managing a company for 15 years.

Chief Justice Jim Spigelman and Appeal Judges Margaret Beazley and Roger Giles also found that ASIC had "a duty of fairness to call a witness whose role was such that there was a significant probability that he had relevant knowledge'' of what happened at a board meeting.

They found that by not calling the witness ASIC undermined its case.

James Hardie's former general counsel, Peter Shafron, and former chief financial officer, Phillip Morley, lost their appeals, although part of Mr Shafron's appeal was allowed. Their cases will return to court in 2011.

However, just to remind you that even if successful you can incur legal costs, James Hardie, lost its appeal on a separate issue and has been ordered to pay 90 per cent of ASIC's legal costs. Thank god for that Side B Cover

Last changed: Aug 19 2011 at 8:28 PM

Latest News

Three Years running - Insurance Brokerage of the Year 1 to 5 staff

Mandy and Robert Cooper were extremely honoured and astounded to once again win, Insurance Brokerage of the Year for 2020 from Insurance Business Australia magazine. This is the third year running.

While this year has not been the easiest of years for the business with Covid 19, the Recession, the hard market and issues at Lloyds of London, we are literally all in this together as an Insurance Industry.

CPR Insurance Services continues to make our clients the number one focus of our business while managing our relationships with Insurers, who we need more than ever in this market climate.

CPR Insurance Services are a highly ethical Brokerage with a reputation as a trusted advisor who always acts in the Client's best interests. Their experience, knowledge and expertise is amongst the highest in the industry.

CPR Insurance Services is now ten years old as a business and is proud of being an Authorised Representative of Ausure and their partnership with Steadfast, giving CPR the strength and backing to match it with any Broking firm in the Insurance Industry, but remain focussed on supporting the Small to Medium business segment.

Memberships of the National Insurance Brokers Association, Australia and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance, Australian Insurance Law Association, Australian Professional Indemnity Group and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, ensures CPR Insurance Services maintains the high standard of knowledge and expertise required to be one of the best Brokerages in Australia.

CPR Insurance Services also plays a strong role in their local community supporting other Sporting Clubs and Community organisations. They also support and promote local businesses with their operation of the Kedron Brook Business Group who meet regularly and has 174 members.

We are truly honoured to receive this National award once again for the third year as a recognition of CPR Insurance Services contribution.

read more

Finalist for QLD Broker of the Year

Robert Cooper was honoured to be nominated as a finalist for Queensland Insurance Broker of the year for 2020, as part of the National Insurance Brokers Association. Unfortunately he missed out on the ultimate award but is a reflection of the high standard that the industry now has for such awards.

read more